Library Board and Staff

Our library Board of Trustees is made up of 9 voluntary members.  Five are appointed by the City of St. Joseph.   Four are appointed by St. Joseph Charter Township.   

Board Bylaws


Board Meetings are held on the 4th Tuesday of each month at 6:00pm,  with the exceptions of August and December. 



Current Library Board Members:

Renard (Ren) Baldwin

City of St. Joseph

Melissa Clapper
Vice President

St. Joseph Charter Township

William (Rick) Ast

City of St. Joseph

Claudia Staude

City of St. Joseph

Mary Streufert

City of St. Joseph

Mimi Elwell

St. Joseph Charter Township

Kathleen Buursma

City of St. Joseph

Patrice Rose

St. Joseph Charter Township
Betty Mundy

St. Joseph Charter Township

Paula Stakley

 Library Director



Our library staff :

Paula Stakley Library Director
Leigh Vallone Administrative Assistant & Room Reservations
Curtis Osmun Library Systems Supervisor; Library Assistant
Lisa Library Assistant;  Volunteer Coordinator, Library2You coordinator, Outreach & Marketing Coordinator
Rebecca Library Assistant; Adult Programming
Barbara Library Assistant; Adult Programming
Gabby Library Assistant; Teen Services; Children's Storytime
Jesse Crosby Technical Services Supervisor; Library Assistant
Katie Library Assistant - Technical Services; Melcat
Nancy Stinemetz Children's Services Supervisor
Sara Library Assistant - Children's Services; It's Elementary
Elizabeth Library Assistant; Children's Services; Children's Storytime
Anushka Library Assistant - Children's Services; Tween programming

Kathleen S.


Amy N.

Library Assistant - substitutes